News Students

Program Director Honored with IBS Media Award

Heather Johnson
Heather Johnson

Florida A&M University (FAMU)’s School of Journalism & Graphic Communication is delighted to announce Jah’mal Lapomarel, student and program director for WANM, has received the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) Media Award for Best Program Director, Radio. This distinguished recognition celebrates Lapomarel’s significant contributions to student broadcasting and media education.

The IBS Media Awards honor excellence in student broadcasting, recognizing individuals and organizations that have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field. Lapomarel has been lauded for his exceptional leadership, innovative programming and commitment to fostering the talents of aspiring media professionals.

Under Lapomarel’s direction, WANM has seen remarkable success. His approach has further elevated the station’s reputation and provided students with opportunities to develop their skills and gain real world experience.

Jah’mal Lapomarel wins Intercollegiate Broadcast System’s Media Award for Best Program Director, Radio.

In addition to this award WANM was selected as a finalist in eight other categories:

  • Best Sports Interview; 2023 SWAC Champions Cross County Team; Jalen Scott
  • Best Spot News, Students Rally Against House Bill 999 in Florida, Richana Johnson
  • Best Live Promotional Event, Move in Day, Janelle Sears, Queneetra Corley
  • Best Station Promotional Poster, Built to Win, Sydney Dorsey-Rencher and Treyvon Eugene
  • Best Sports Report, Sideline Report FAMU vs UWF, Ahmad Kebe
  • Best Promotions Director, Television, WANM-FM 90.5, Sydney Dorsey-Rencher
  • Best Social Media Director, Radio, WANM-FM 90.5, Sydney Dorsey-Rencher
  • Best News Director, Radio, WANM-FM 90.5, Janelle Sears

As detailed on its website, IBS supports college and high school media outlets and organizations and since 1940 the organization has proudly been led by volunteers who are passionate about student media.

Each year, the IBS Media Awards are distributed to its member stations during its annual conference. This year, more than 3,000 entries were submitted from 100-plus schools worldwide. You may click here to view the full list of award recipients.

Latest News Stories