Alumna Monica G. Myrick wins a 2022 Webby Award for Documentary

SJGC Staff
SJGC Staff
Alumna Monica G. Myrick wins a 2022 Webby Award for Documentary
Alumna Monica G. Myrick wins a 2022 Webby Award for Documentary

School of Journalism and Graphic Communication (SJGC) alumna Monica G. Myrick won a 2022 Webby Award for her documentary “Walk With Me.” Myrick accepted the award at the 26th Annual Webby Awards in New York. “Walk With Me” followed two college students navigating homelessness in Tallahassee, Fla.

“This is something rare that people don’t really talk about,” she said. “My classmate had the idea and I had a vision for it. I really wanted to shed light on this issue.”

In the film, Myrick chronicles the experiences of two subjects who share their struggles hiding their homelessness from others and how they managed to complete their educations despite precarious living situations.

The win comes four years after Myrick created the film. Myrick wrote, filmed, and edited the documentary in 2018 for the SJGC documentary filmmaking class.

“I submitted my work four years later because I felt like it deserved more recognition. It was my baby,” she said. Delayed never ever means denied.”

The work was first shown during J-school Journals in 2018, a yearly FAMU showcase for student documentaries that airs on the university’s public access cable channel and is also streamed online.

“Walk With Me” also won a Florida AP Award in 2018.

NEW YORK, NEW YORK – MAY 16: Tryton Swigart-Johnson and Monica Myrick attend the 26th Annual Webby Awards on May 16, 2022 in New York City. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images for The Webby Awards)

About The Webby Awards:
Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites and Mobile Sites; Video; Advertising, Media and PR; Apps & Software, Social; Podcasts; Games and Virtual & Remote. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received more than 14,300 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include Verizon, WP Engine, Canva, Omidyar Network, YouGov, NAACP, KPMG, Fast Company, Wall Street Journal, MediaPost, Podcast Movement, TheFutureParty and AIGA.

More Stories