ABC News President and SJGC alumna honored by UNCF

SJGC Staff
SJGC Staff

ABC News President and School of Journalism and Graphic Communication (SJGC) alumna Kim Godwin was honored by the United Negro College Fund (UNCF) with their Leadership Award at their annual awards gala in March. Nightline co-anchor Byron Pitts served as emcee of the event, and GMA co-host Michael Strahan virtually presented Godwin with the award. 

“I was that little girl from an HBCU – who dared to dream of being a network news president?? Oh right – Kim Godwin you’re not dreaming. I stand proudly as proof that dreams can and do come true,” she said in her acceptance speech.

UNCF is the nation’s largest and most effective minority education organization. To serve youth, the community and the nation, UNCF supports students’ education and development through scholarships and other programs, supports and strengthens its 37 member colleges and universities.

During her acceptance speech, Godwin also addressed her desire to give back. “Because people held doors open for me, I will hold open doors. Because people gave me a chance, I will give others a chance. And because people invested in me, I will invest in others,” she said.

Proceeds from the gala will benefit students across New York and the United States who lack the financial support to get to and through college, as well as UNCF’s HBCU members.

The leader is currently the chair of the board of visitors at SJGC and was formerly the SJGC journalism division director. As President of ABC News, Kim Godwin oversees editorial and business operations for broadcast, digital, streaming, and audio news across the organization which includes trusted and iconic franchises “Good Morning America,” “World News Tonight,” “20/20,” “Nightline,” FiveThirtyEight, “The View” and “This Week.” She joined ABC after leaving CBS where she was second-in-command as executive vice president of News.

Over her career, Godwin has been honored with six National News and Documentary Emmy Awards, two Edward R. Murrow Awards, an Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia award, and a Sigma Delta Chi Award. She is also a well-regarded member of the National Association of Black Journalists.

More Stories